2019 Colorado Rapids Schedule: Five games to highlight

0
Photo Credit: John A. Babiak @Photog_JohnB

COMMERCE CITY, Colo. (January 7, 2019) – The 2019 MLS regular season schedule has been released. The Colorado Rapids schedule has them starting on Saturday, March 2, hosting Portland Timbers.

2019 Colorado Rapids Schedule: Five games to highlight

The 2019 Colorado Rapids schedule for league play is as follows. All times are Mountain Standard.

Sat., March 2 vs Portland Timbers 4:00 PM
Sat., March 9 @ Seattle Sounders FC 8:00 PM
Sun., March 17 vs Sporting Kansas City 7:00 PM
Sat., March 23 @ FC Dallas 1:30 PM
Sat., March 30 vs Houston Dynamo 7:00 PM
Sat., April 6 @ Orlando City SC 5:30 PM
Wed., April 10 vs Seattle Sounders FC 7:00 PM
Sat., April 13 vs D.C. United 7:00 PM
Sat., April 20 @ Chicago Fire 11:00 AM
Sat., April 27 @ Atlanta United FC 4:00 PM
Fri., May 3 vs Vancouver Whitecaps FC 7:00 PM
Sat., May 11 vs Real Salt Lake 7:00 PM
Sun., May 19 @ LA Galaxy 6:00 PM
Sat., May 25 vs Columbus Crew SC 7:00 PM
Wed., May 29 @ Philadelphia Union 5:30 PM
Sat., June 1 vs FC Cincinnati 7:00 PM
Sat., June 22 @ Vancouver Whitecaps FC 8:00 PM
Fri., June 28 vs LAFC 8:00 PM
Thurs., July 4 vs New England Revolution 7:00 PM
Sat., July 13 @ Portland Timbers 9:00 PM
Wed., July 17 vs Minnesota United FC 7:00 PM
Sat., July 20 vs New York City FC 7:00 PM
Sat., July 27 @ San Jose Earthquakes 8:00 PM
Sat., August 3 vs Montreal Impact 7:00 PM
Sat., August 10 vs San Jose Earthquakes 7:00 PM
Wed., August 14 @ Minnesota United FC 6:00 PM
Sat., August 17 @ Houston Dynamo 7:00 PM
Sat., August 24 @ Real Salt Lake 8:00 PM
Sat., August 31 @ New York Red Bulls 5:00 PM
Thurs., September 12 vs LA Galaxy 7:00 PM
Sun., September 15 @ Toronto FC 3:00 PM
Sat., September 21 @ Sporting Kansas City 6:30 PM
Sun., September 29 vs FC Dallas 5:30 PM
Sun., October 6 @ LAFC 2:00 PM

With that, let’s take a look at the five most exciting games on the Rapids schedule this year:

April 27 @ Atlanta United FC:

The Pids will have a relatively early match against the defending MLS Cup champions this year. This will also be their first every visit to Mercedez-Benz Stadium. The atmosphere will be lit and the Rapids will be playing the new superclub of Major League Soccer. What more could you want?

May 11 vs Real Salt Lake

For just the fourth time in its history, the Rocky Mountain Cup will open with a Rapids home game. RSL has won the derby trophy the last three years, with the last meeting at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park being a 6-0 blowout with two red cards. The Burgundy Boys and their supporters want payback. It starts by winning this game and claiming the trophy in 2019.

June 1 vs FC Cincinnati

Another first for this one as the Rapids will be playing their first ever game against MLS Expansion team FC Cincinnati. Cincy’s roster is still in development so who knows how big of a match-up this will be. But it will be the first chance Rapids fans have to see the new competition in the league.

July 4 vs New England Revolution:

The traditional 4th of July home game with the biggest firework show in the state of Colorado? Playing an MLS team that has the American flag as its logo? And this might be the only time in 2019 the Rapids play their 2018 MVP in left back Edgar Castillo? Enough said. This game should be a sellout and feature some interesting match-ups with Castillo wanting a result against his old teammates.

August 14 @ Minnesota United FC:

Remember what happened the last time the Rapids played in Minnesota? This game will start a four game road trip for the Rapids and a stretch where they’ll play seven Western Conference teams in nine games to finish the season. Like the game at Atlanta, this will be the first ever visit for the Rapids at a new stadium, Allianz Field. If Tommy Smith’s in the Starting XI, let chaos reign.

Last Word: Colorado Springs Switchbacks

With the Rapids starting a new MLS-USL affiliation with their southern USL neighbors, Rapids fans will be interested in attending a game or two in 2019. And there’s a perfect match already scheduled. On May 18, the Switchbacks will host USL expansion side New Mexico United. The Rapids play the following day at LA Galaxy. New Mexico is a natural geographic rival for the Switchbacks and they have former Rapids player Sam Hamilton.

LEAVE A REPLY

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.