2018 Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League Draw Set For December 18

Embed from Getty Images
MEXICO CITY, MEXICO - APRIL 26: Fans of Pachuca light flares to celebrate after winning the Final second leg match between Pachuca and Tigres UANL as part of the CONCACAF Champions League 2016/17 at Hidalgo Stadium on April 26, 2017 in Monterrey, Mexico. (Photo by Miguel Tovar/LatinContent/Getty Images)

Miami, FL. (November 30, 2017) – The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) has set a date and format for the draw of the first round of the 2018 CONCACAF Champions League (CCL) knockout stage. The draw will occur on Monday, December 18, at 7:00 pm ET.

2018 Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League Draw Set For December 18

The following sixteen clubs have qualified for the draw of the CONCACAF Champions League knockout round: Toronto FC (CAN), CS Herediano (CRC), Deportivo Saprissa (CRC), Cibao FC (DOM), Santa Tecla FC (SLV), CD Olimpia (HON), FC Motagua (HON), CD Guadalajara (MEX), Club America (MEX), Club Tijuana (MEX), Tigres UANL (MEX), Tauro FC (PAN), Colorado Rapids (USA), FC Dallas (USA), New York Red Bulls (USA) and Seattle Sounders FC (USA).

The American and Mexican based teams qualified by various accomplishments in Major League Soccer and Liga MX, respectively. Toronto FC qualified by winning the Amway Canadian Championship. The first round will be a straight two round knockout competition with away goals. The teams will begin play in February.

Teams from Pot 1 will be matched up with a team from Pot 2. The Pot 2 teams will host leg one of the series. After the draw, the tournament will follow a bracket format, per CONCACAF:

“For the Round of 16, clubs drawn from Pot 1 will play away first, and host the return matches. The winners of matchups number 1, 3, 5 and 7, will host the return leg of the quarterfinals and will face the winners of matchups 2, 4, 6 and 8 respectively.”

The pots are as follows:

Pot 1: Toronto FC (CAN), CD Guadalajara (MEX), Club America (MEX), Tigres UANL (MEX), Club Tijuana (MEX), FC Dallas (USA), New York Red Bulls (USA) and Seattle Sounders FC (USA)

Pot 2: Deportivo Saprissa (CRC), CS Herediano (CRC*), Cibao FC (DOM), FC Motagua (HON), Club Deportivo Olimpia (HON), Tauro FC (PAN), Santa Tecla FC (SLV) and Colorado Rapids (USA)

Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League 2018 Match Date Windows
Round of 16: February 20-22 and February 27- March 1, 2018
Quarterfinals: March 6-8 and March 13-15, 2018
Semifinals: April 3-5 and April 10-12, 2018
Finals: April 17-19 and April 24-26, 2018

Embed from Getty Images


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.